University of Kentucky Family and Consumer Sciences professionals received national recognition for innovative programming and exemplary accomplishments during the 86th annual session of National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

“From Paducah to Pikeville, Bowling Green to Ashland, our Family and Consumer Sciences Extension educators are working to improve the quality of life in their communities,” said Jennifer Hunter, UK assistant director of Family and Consumer Sciences Extension. “Being recognized on a national level is a testament to the quality of programming being provided across Kentucky.”

UK FCS agents received Distinguished Service, Continued Excellence, and program awards.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes Family and Consumer Sciences educators for their leadership, outstanding programs, and personal and professional growth. It is the association’s highest award. Award recipients must have 10 or more years of service to the profession and the association. Winners include Lynn Blankenship, Metcalfe County; Elizabeth Coots, Woodford County; and, Cecelia Hostilo, Trigg County.

The Continued Excellence Award is given to individuals who are actively involved in professional improvement programs, promote the professional development of colleagues and exhibit leadership. Winners must have 12 or more years of service and be a past recipient of the association’s Distinguished Service Award. Award winners include Katie Alexander, Daviess County, and Crystal Osborne, Owsley County.

The Talking FACS podcast team received first place in the Communications: Radio/Podcast category.  The Talking FACS podcast is hosted by Dr. Jennifer Hunter, assistant director of Family and Consumer Sciences Extension, and produced by Mindy McCulley, extension specialist for instructional support.


Diane Mason of Boone County and her team received the first place award for Innovations in Programming and the second place award for Food Safety. Kathy Byrnes of Kenton County and her team received the second place award for Extension Housing Outreach.  In addition to Mason and Byrnes, their teams included Linda Brown-Price, Kenton County; Joan Bowling, Kenton County; Kenna Knight, Pendleton County; Kate Thompson, Campbell County; Ronda Rex, Campbell County; Sherri Broderick, Gallatin County; Cathy Jansen, Carroll County; Judy Hetterman, Owen County (retired); and Rachael Price, Grant County.

Other second place awards included, Janey Cline of Hart County (Florence Hall Award), Jill Harris of Todd County (Environmental Education Award) and Leslie Workman of Pike County (Dean Don Felker Financial Management Award).